Lab members

Email addresses for most lab members are first initial, surname,

Zoe V. Finkel

Oceanography, Canada Research Chair in Marine Microbial Macroecology

My research interests focus on the eco-physiological controls of phytoplankton community structure, feedbacks between phytoplankton community structure and climate change, and the macroevolutionary history of phytoplankton communities. (Google scholar, Researcher ID B-9626-2008, ORCID 0000-0003-4212-3917, email:

Andrew J. Irwin

Mathematics & Statistics

I use mathematical and statistical models to study the marine biosphere, phytoplankton growth, and environmental influences on the distribution of phytoplankton in the ocean. (Google scholar, Researcher ID B-2245-2008, ORCID 0000-0001-7784-2319, email:

Research associates

Lab technicians


Technical assistant

  • Peter Irwin

Graduate students

  • Jonathan Bradet-Legris (M.Sc. candidate, Statistics)

Undergraduate students

  • Mirelle Naud (Biology, English)


Past members

  • Sally Faulkner (Environmental Science, now at MUN)
  • Catherine Fiset (Mathematics & Computer Science, Biology, now at UPEI Vet School)
  • Matthew Fyfe (Environmental Science)
  • Kindy Houinato (Environmental Science, Economics)
  • Akarsh Pai (Biochemistry)
  • Dr Rosie Sheward (Google scholar)
  • Dr Justin Liefer (Google scholar)
  • Dr Ina Benner (now at UCLA)
  • Michael Bradet-Legris (Math & Computer Science, 2017)
  • Dr Chris Brown (Google scholar)
  • Thomas Hammond (Economics, Math & Computer Science, 2017)
  • Justin Laforest (Earth & Environmental Science, St FX, 2017)
  • Aneri Garg (Environmental Science, 2015-16)
  • Margaux Daly (Environmental Science, 2016)
  • Nils Guelzow (Post-doc, 2014-15)
  • Julie Koester (Post-doc, 2012-14; currently at UNC Wilmington)
  • Johnathan Carter (Environmental Science honours student, 2013-14; currently a graduate student at Memorial University)
  • Katherine Sheridan (Biochemistry honours student, 2013-14)
  • Tyson Burris (Biology honours student, 2013-14)
  • Crispin Mutshinda (Post-doc, Mathematics, 2011-13)
  • Laura Boyd (Environmental Science honours student, 2012-13; currently traveling the world)
  • Zoe Frolking (Environmental Science honours student, 2012-13; currently at the UNC School of Public Health for a M.Sc. in environmental science and engineering)
  • Andrew MacLean (Computer Science / Physics summer student in 2013)
  • Nick Manuel (Mathematics/Economics summer student in 2013)
  • Andrew Barton (Post-doc, 2011-12; currently at Princeton University/GFDL)
  • Melissa Grey (NSERC post-doc, 2010-12; currently Curator of Palaeontology at Joggins Fossil Institute)
  • Yaping Wu (Post-doc 2010-2011; currently Assistant professor at Xiamen University)
  • Liz Kerrigan (Environmental Science honours student, 2010-11; currently a graduate student at Dalhousie University Oceanography)
  • Greg Legere (Computer Science, 2011)
  • Susan Sharpe (Biochemistry honours student, 2010-11; M.Sc. Dalhousie, and now back in our lab)
  • Helena van Tol (Environmental Science honours student, 2010-11; currently a graduate student at the University of Washington)
  • Andrew Nelles (Mathematics and Computer Science student, 2010)
  • Georgia Klein (Post-doc 2010-11, now at Dalhousie University)
  • Zhi Ping Mei (Post-doc 2007-10; currently Assistant professor at Shantou University)
  • Bingzhang Chen (Post-doc 2009-10; currently Assistant professor at Xiamen University)
  • Martina Loebl (Post-doc 2008-10; currently at the University of Bremen)
  • Ying Yu (Ruby) Hu (Post-doc 2008-10)
  • Tufail Malik (Post-doc 2007-09; currently at Khalifa University)
  • Pam Sargent (Mathematics and Computer Science 2009, 2011; currently at a graduate student at UBC in Mathematics)
  • Nicole McMillan (Math & Computer Science 2009)
  • Daniel Blanchette (Math & Computer Science 2009)
  • Thomas Stone (MMaB lab technician 2007-08)
  • Kelly Regan (Biology honours student, 2007-08; M.Sc. University of Guelph)
  • Kyle Matheson (Biology honours student, 2007-08; M.Sc. MUN)
  • Christophe Six (Biochemistry post-doc, 2005-2007; currently at Universit√© Paris VI & CNRS)
  • Ha (Vivien) Nguyen (Math & Computer Science, 2007; M.Sc. in Engineering at Queen's (2009- ))
  • Jesse McNichol (Biology, 2007; currently a graduate student at WHOI/MIT)
  • Colin Jacob-Vaillancourt (research technician, 2006-07; currently a Science educator, Quebec)
  • Hannah MacDonald (Environmental Science, 2006; currently Junior project manager Biogenie Corp., Edmonton)
  • Karsten Hempel (Computer Science, 2006)
  • Stephen Murray (Math & Computer Science, 2005-06; M.Sc. in Mathematics at McMaster (2008- )
  • Jenny Tennent (Physics, 2005)